top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetuffreemsguard

One piece of advice I would give someone who is thinking about joining the Colorguard team is...

I would tell someone that the worst that can happen is you hit yourself. You can always get better. Just don’t stop trying because if you do, there is no point of even being on the team. Its ok to step out of your comfort zone and make new friends.


I would tell new member to make sure not to stress too much about small things and enjoy the time you have at competitions.


One piece of advice I would give someone who is thinking about joining the Colorguard Team is not to worry if you don’t pick up skills quickly because you will have lots of time to practice and perfect them.


One piece of advice that I would give to someone who is thinking about joining is to just have fun. Marching season is all about experimenting and having fun and of course learning your basics but you also have to have fun. There is no point of doing colorgaurd if you don’t have fun while doing it so just go out there, whether it be practice or at a football game, and remember it's about having fun.


One piece of advice I would give to somebody who is thinking about joining is do it. It will open up your life so so much and teach you so many things. You definitely have to be committed to it but it will be the time of your life. You will have the perfect coach who will impact your life forever and you will make life long friends. And plus, you get to spin weapons and who doesn’t wanna do that.


One piece of advice that I would give is that you need to take colorguard seriously. It’s one big goofy family, but when it comes time to practice or perform you have to work it and be there both physically and mentally.


Think you can do it, because you can accomplish anything if you keep trying and ask for help <33


One piece of advise I would give to someone thinking about joining the team is to never give up. With all honesty , in the beginning I felt like quitting. I thought I’d never get good at colorguard because it was too “hard “ for me, I couldn’t do once single toss. However, I gave it a little longer, joined winterguard, and ended up loving colorguard. Just DO NOT give up :))


I would say that if you are joining the colorguard team it is a big commitment, but personally it’s worth it and it is really fun. Also, you have to practice at home it’s probably not something you are going to get over night so you will have to practice.


My advice is to just try it out. Try it out, and if you don’t like it then you don’t have to audition. I know that colorguard isn’t for everybody, and that’s okay. On the other hand, colorguard is a really fun experience that some people really like and some people don’t. You don’t, honestly, know until you try. Also, if you are having second thoughts because of your schedule, just talk to Coach Rachel about it. She is a really wonderful and caring person that is always there for you. Whether it is school related or not, I’m sure Coach Rachel and you will be able to figure it out.


Don't do a parallel blindfolded. Colorguard is like your second family and Coach Rachel is the best person to be with.


One thing I would say as a piece of advice would be to always give it your best into never give up because you will keep on dropping your flag and rifle but that doesn’t mean you’re bad or that you should stop doing it.


Relax. Colorguard, and all other performing activities, are so much fun. As long as you practice and focus when you need to, you'll have a blast.just try your best - you’ll do greatAlways try out new things, and don’t be afraid to ask for help.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why did I audition for Colorguard?

I auditioned for colorguard because I was really intrigued by the orientation performance. I just wanted to be a part of a team. Because I though it would be fun I auditioned for colorguard in 6th gra

My favorite Colorguard memory was...

My favorite colorguard memory was sitting in the bus to Knotts even though I was wearing my band uniform which was very hot. 🤩 My favorite color guard memory was when we did the Placentia parade All

Why do I love colorguard?

I love colorguard because it helped me meet new people. I also love colorguard because I learned something new, and this will forever be a favorite hobby of mine. I love color guard because it helps m

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page